Academics

TUSD Music

The TUSD music program is a unique and ground-breaking approach to learning. Third grade music instruction combines instrumental, vocal, theory, music history, and keyboarding skills with the TUSD Connect principles. Learning targets are based on the California Visual And Performing Arts Standards in tandem with the 21st century skills of creativity, collaboration, communication, and critical thinking. The third graders work with one highly qualified and credentialed music educator for the year. The students sing, play rhythm instruments, learn the recorder, and study music theory and history through a comprehensive composer series.

Fourth and Fifth grade music instruction combines instrumental, vocal, theory, music history, and keyboarding skills with the TUSD Connect principles. Learning targets are based on the California Visual And Performing Arts Standards in tandem with the 21st century skills of creativity, collaboration, communication, and critical thinking. The fourth and fifth graders work with one highly qualified and credentialed music educator per trimester. In vocal music, students sing and play rhythm instruments. During instrumental music, students learn violin (provided by TUSD). Through apps such as garage band and a piano app, students learn to read, perform, and compose music in a 21st century setting. All students study music theory and history through a comprehensive composer series.

Music Instructors:

Victoria Cope - vcope@tustin.k12.ca.us

Sarah Tuggy - stuggy@tustin.k12.ca.us

Richard Lueras - rlueras@tustin.k12.ca.ux

Phil Jones - pjones@tustin.k12.ca.us

Amy Augustine - aaugustine@tustin.k12.ca.us

Susan Martin - smartin@tustin.k12.ca.us

Sharon Frazier-Verpooten - sfrazierverpooten@tustin.k12.ca.us

Davina Leung - dleung@tustin.k12.ca.us

Jamie Spehar - jspehar@tustin.k12.ca.us