Skip To Main Content

Placement and Reclassification

State and federal laws require all school districts in California to give a state test of English proficiency to students whose primary language is not English. In California, this test is known as the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). The test has four domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing. CELDT levels range from 1 to 5 and are used to place students in the appropriate English Language Development (ELD) class.

Initial CELDT

This test is given when the student first enrolls in a California public school. Depending on the overall Initial CELDT results, students are identified as Limited English Proficient (LEP) or Initially Fluent English Proficient (IFEP). If the student is identified as LEP (CELDT level 1, 2, or 3), he/she is placed in the appropriate ELD level for instructional purposes. If the student is identified as IFEP (CELDT level 4 or 5), the student will be considered proficient in English and will not qualify for English learner (EL) services.

CELDT Levels

4Early Advanced
2Early Intermediate

Minimum Reclassification Criteria in Tustin Unified School District

A student who is identified as LEP must fulfill all of these requirements:

Performance in Basic Skills: One of the following:

  • CAASPP ELA/Literacy Performance Level (Standard Met or Exceeded)
  • PSAT (Critical Reading and Critical Writing. Grade 10 = at least 42 / Grade 11 = At least 45)
  • Orange or Pink Checkpoint/PT – or – Interim Assessment Block PT (Standard Met or Exceeded)
  • Site-based ELA Assessment Score (Standard Met or Exceeded)

Teacher Evaluation – Overall Academic Performance

  • Elementary Report Card Performance Level (At least level 3 on reading, writing and ELD )
  • Secondary Academic GPA (At least 2.0)

Teacher recommendation

  • CELDT Overall Score of Early Advanced or Advanced

(Grades 1 and 2 use other District Local Assessments)