The Tustin Unified School District Transfers Page and Transfer Request Process is best experienced on a desktop or laptop.

I heart emoji with Tustin bell inside Transfers
Collage of students on the first day of school
Collage of Robotics, MUN, and Culinary Programs

The 2021-22 Transfer Priority Window has closed.  Notifications will be sent by March 31 for applications received by 3 pm on January 29.  Late Transfer Requests for the 2021-22 School Year are being accepted on a space availability basis. All late requests will be evaluated after the Priority Window Requests have been determined beginning in late March.

 

April 2021
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Mar 28
Mon, Mar 29
Tue, Mar 30
Wed, Mar 31
Thu, Apr 1
Fri, Apr 2
Sat, Apr 3
Sun, Apr 4
Mon, Apr 5
Tue, Apr 6
Wed, Apr 7
Thu, Apr 8
Fri, Apr 9
Sat, Apr 10
Sun, Apr 11
Mon, Apr 12
Tue, Apr 13
Wed, Apr 14
Thu, Apr 15
Fri, Apr 16
Sat, Apr 17
Sun, Apr 18
Mon, Apr 19
Tue, Apr 20
Wed, Apr 21
Thu, Apr 22
Fri, Apr 23
Sat, Apr 24
Sun, Apr 25
Mon, Apr 26
Tue, Apr 27
Wed, Apr 28
Thu, Apr 29
Fri, Apr 30
Sat, May 1
There are no events to display

 

The Transfer Request process is necessary for any student who would like to attend a Tustin Unified school located outside of their residence school boundary.

While students traditionally attend the school assigned to their residential area, the Board of Education recognizes some families may wish to choose a different school. TUSD has designated specific guidelines and application period for families to request a transfer. Transfer Requests are not first come, first served; Transfer Requests are processed through a random and unbiased manner. Transfers are granted to qualified students based on space availability. If there are more qualified Transfer Requests than spaces, a lottery is held. Once a school or grade reaches capacity, other sites may be offered. All decisions are FINAL.

What kind of Transfer Request do you need?

 

INTERDISTRICT

Out of District Residents. If the student’s residence is not within the Tustin Unified School District (TUSD) boundaries, and they wish to attend a TUSD school for the 2021-2022 school year, or the student is a current Tustin Unified TK, 5th or 8th grader and wishes to continue attending Tustin Unified as they matriculate to a new school, you will need an INTERDISTRICT Transfer.  Current TUSD students outside of grades TK, 5th, or 8th grade living out of district need only to renew their permit for the district of residence. A TUSD Transfer Request is not necessary unless the student is changing schools due to choice or matriculation.

INTRADISTRICT

Tustin Unified School District Residents. My student resides within Tustin Unified boundaries and wishes to attend a school other than their residence school.

NOT SURE

Use the Tustin Unified School Locator to confirm residence school.

 

Ready to start your Transfer Request? Choose an option below.

 

Important - Please read the options below carefully to select the correct option that pertain to your situation.

If you are unsure which option to choose, experience technical errors, or login issues with the portal, please contact the Transfers office by phone at 714-730-7301, ext. 51317 or email the Transfers office at transfers@mytusd.org and we can assist.

If you experience technical errors or login issues with the application, please visit our Tustin USD Portal Support page or call the Transfers office at  714-730-7301, ext. 51317.

Frequently Asked Questions

Interdistrict Transfer Release Permit:  Requests to Leave TUSD Schools

For families that wish to have their students attend school in a district other than where they live, an Interdistrict Transfer applies.  All Interdistrict requests must be initiated in the district of residence. Interdistrict transfers are valid for one year only and must be renewed annually. An approved Interdistrict agreement must be in effect between the district of residence and the school district of desired attendance before a student can attend the desired school.  

The Interdistrict Transfer Release from TUSD is intended for Residents who wish to attend non-TUSD schools for the school year.  If you are looking for a release from TUSD, requests will be processed in accordance with CA Ed Code.   For Outgoing Transfer requests, final notification will come from the school district you are requesting to attend. 

If you are looking for an Interdistrict Transfer release from TUSD to another district, complete this document (Spanish version) and return electronically to transfers@mytusd.org or you can drop it off in person at the Transfers Office, 14741 North B Street, Tustin, 92780.   

Financial Conditions

Interdistrict attendance agreements shall be non-tuition unless Federal Impact Aid is involved. Under a non-tuition agreement, the financial apportionment for regular education students shall be credited to the district of attendance and not the district of residence.