Welcome to the Tustin Unified School District Transfers Page 

Transfer Request Process is best experienced on a desktop or laptop.

I heart emoji with Tustin bell inside Transfers
Collage of students on the first day of school
Collage of Robotics, MUN, and Culinary Programs

The 2022-23 School Year transfer application period closed January 28, 2022 @ 3:00 pm. All transfers received after the January 28th date will be reviewed as soon as all transfer requests have been processed beginning in April.  


Hours and Location: 

  • M-F 7:30-4:30 pm
  • 14741 N. B Street in Tustin Office is located in the first parking lot near the solar panels in the white office with blue trim
  • 714-730-7301, select option 2

Eligible late Transfer Requests for the 2021-22 School Year are considered on a space availability basis. Only new residents (must provide evidence of recent move) and students not currently enrolled are eligible to apply for the current school year. Call the transfers office for assistance.

May 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4
There are no events to display

 

The Transfer Request process is necessary for any student who would like to attend a Tustin Unified school located outside of their residence school boundary.

While students traditionally attend the school assigned to their residential area, the Board of Education recognizes some families may wish to choose a different school. TUSD has designated specific guidelines and application period for families to request a transfer. Transfer Requests are not first come, first served; Transfer Requests are processed through a random and unbiased manner. Transfers are granted to qualified students based on space availability. If there are more qualified Transfer Requests than spaces, a lottery is held. Once a school or grade reaches capacity, other sites may be offered. All decisions are FINAL.

What kind of Transfer Request do you need?

 

NOT SURE

Use the Tustin Unified School Locator to confirm residence school.

INTERDISTRICT

Out of District Residents. If the student’s residence is not within the Tustin Unified School District (TUSD) boundaries, and they wish to attend a TUSD school for the 2021-2022 school year, or the student is a current Tustin Unified TK, 5th or 8th grader and wishes to continue attending Tustin Unified as they matriculate to a new school, you will need an INTERDISTRICT Transfer.  Current TUSD students outside of grades TK, 5th, or 8th grade living out of district need only to renew their permit for the district of residence. A TUSD Transfer Request is not necessary unless the student is changing schools due to choice or matriculation.

INTRADISTRICT

Tustin Unified School District Residents. My student resides within Tustin Unified boundaries and wishes to attend a school other than their residence school.

 

Ready to start your Transfer Request?

Applications for the 2022-23 School Year are now being accepted on a space availability basis in the order in which they are received. 

 

Important - Please read the options below carefully to select the correct option that pertain to your situation.

If you are unsure which option to choose, experience technical errors, or login issues with the portal, please contact the Transfers office by phone at 714-730-7301, ext. 51317 or email the Transfers office at transfers@mytusd.org and we can assist.

If you experience technical errors or login issues with the application, please visit our Tustin USD Portal Support page or call the Transfers office at  714-730-7301, ext. 51317.

Frequently Asked Questions

Interdistrict Transfer Agreement:  Permits to attend outside of TUSD

For families that wish to have their students attend school in a district other than where they live, an Interdistrict Transfer Agreement applies.  All Interdistrict permits must be initiated in the district of residence. Interdistrict permits are valid for one year only and must be renewed annually. An approved Interdistrict agreement must be in effect between the district of residence and the school district of desired attendance before a student can attend the desired school.  

The Interdistrict Transfer Release from TUSD is intended for TUSD Residents who wish to attend non-TUSD schools.  If you are looking for an Interdistrict Transfer permit from TUSD to another district, complete this application (Spanish version) and return electronically to transfers@mytusd.org.   

  • Requests will be processed in accordance with CA Ed Code. 
  • Final decision notification will come from the school district you are requesting to attend. 
  • Permits for the 2022-23 school year will be accepted beginning February 1, 2022.

Financial Conditions

Interdistrict attendance agreements shall be non-tuition unless Federal Impact Aid is involved. Under a non-tuition agreement, the financial apportionment for regular education students shall be credited to the district of attendance and not the district of residence.